each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

road trip #1

1 Comment

If there is one thing you need to know about me, if any, is that my heart is set on traveling.

My parents instilled this fire on me, and kept it always burning. Burning with desire to see it all, know it all, visit it all, but most of all, to experience it all. So it should’ve been no surprise when I dragged my husband to one of my adventures.

We rarely get days off together (which is such a bummer), but I wanted to make the best out of it, so 10am this morning I woke him up, super pumped to go out and visit more of our wonderful State. We decided to visit Luray Caverns. I had been there about 6 years ago with my parents, but I wanted to experience it again with him, and make our own memories.

The drive went by faster than both of us anticipated. On the way there we were both starving, having left the house with no breakfast. So we found this great restaurant right off of 66, called the Apple House.

Image

The atmosphere was great, and so was the food. I had the 3 egg whites on whole wheat toast and house fries (which were kinda hash browns). It was delicious. The hubs had two doughnuts, so of course I stole one. But after eating almost all of my order I only ate half of it (he said it tasted like funnel cake, and it was amazing).

Fast forward another 40 minute drive and we made it!

Image

The line was pretty long, but we only waited about 15 minutes, which was great. I ended up adding a (pretty beaten up) cardigan cause it was a bit chillier than I expected. But it did the job.

Image

This is what greets you right as you walk in. How breathtaking is it? I mean, nature baffles me.

Image

They took us to this chamber filled with water. Brian and I were joking that it looks like a citadel, with a bunch of dwarfs living there and watching us back. But the pictures and the visual effect of the reflection of the stalactites is amazing.

 

Image

This was one of the tallest columns in the cave. We were a bit bummed that people kept touching everything, even when they were told not to. Call it human nature, but if we held back, we are sure people could’ve done that too.

Image

On the left is the wishing well (the hubs and I, of course, did it, because.. why not?) and on the right is a  beautiful rock formation that resembles a wave, and is so thin that light reflects through it.

Image

Leaving the cavern we went to both the car museum and Luray museum. Honestly I could’ve skipped both, but we are both highly allergic to dust/ mold so museums and antiques are never a good place for us.

Image

We did find this super cute ” gazebo” on the way out of the museum, and this super cute elderly woman offered to take our picture there too. ( if there is anything else, you need to know about me, is that I love gazebos).

Image

On the way back we spotted this super cute pine tree plantation, and I was amazed at my husband saying that people will indeed, spend hours in the car to go buy their Christmas trees. ( I smell family tradition..)

Tomorrow is another busy, but amazing day, but I’ll share it then!

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

One thought on “road trip #1

  1. Pingback: west virginia is for lovers, too | each lovely thing

Leave a Reply

