each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

long weekends are to be enjoyed

Leave a comment

Memorial Day is dear to me. While I’m glad I haven’t personally lost anyone, there were some (very) close calls with my dad, who was in his fair share of wars with the UN. I am so incredibly grateful to those who put their lives at stake to defend ours.

To celebrate this day we packed our schedules with some much needed family/friends time.

On Sunday the hubs had to work so I went over to my in-laws where my sweet niece had her 8th birthday party. She’s so big already. Back when we started dating she was turning 3! Time certainly flies. We got her a bunch of beach outfits and flip flops (all on her favorite color, of course).

Later that day we went out with a couple of friends to Silver Spring (which is so far from us), to this place called the Urban Butcher. My friend just graduated from her Masters in Architecture (so proud of her!) so we wanted to take them out as a surprise.

Image

We drove by it a couple times, and could not find it, but once we found a parking spot (right in front of it, yeah!) we could see and experience all the charm this place has!

 

Image

Seriously, how fun are these chairs?

 

Image

We were sat right by the entrance, which worked just fine. It wasn’t crowded at all, so we were seated as soon as we came in. I really loved the atmosphere, and the food is pretty darn good – although really overpriced. Service was top notch, and it was amazing seeing our dear friends again.

 

Monday we planned a barbecue here at our place for my friends from work, as well as his brother. It was a great time. It was,  though, the first time we did anything on the patio since winter, so it’s safe to say I spent a couple hours cleaning all the patio + furniture + grill.

Image

I went to Wegmans and bought those gigantic burgers, which the boys had, and they said they could barely fit anything else after devouring them. They never fail to disappoint. My friend from NY took over the grill and boy, was everything just extremely tasty. I whipped up a couple of desserts, nothing too fancy. The chocolate dipped bananas are pretty straight forward, and for the mini pies I adapted this recipe, by Simply Taralynn. I just didn’t add the berries, opting instead for the drizzled chocolate (if you’ve been following me from the start, you know why).

 

Image

 

Image

Safe to say everyone was having a good time.

 

Image

There’s a saying that it takes a village to raise a child. Let me tell you, it takes almost that to get a sleepy newborn to smile for the picture. But she did great throughout the bbq, being all kinds of sweet and cute with her sailor outfit.

 

Image

Don’t let that weird face fool you, I did have an amazing time. It was a lot of work, but I do get so much enjoyment and fulfillment on having friends over, cooking for them and I feel all sorts of accomplished when the feedback is positive.

 

I’ll be back soon with some amazing, humbling and happy news!

 

 

 

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

Leave a Reply

