each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

and my heart felt warm

Leave a comment

Hey, everyone. Hope you all had a great weekend. It was pretty good over at these parts, as well as hectic.

 

Saturday was the Herndon Festival, and our salon was actually part of the Business Expo. That meant setting up a booth showcasing a bit of what we do, and products we carry.

Image

I got to work by 7:30am, and set everything up before 8:30am. The expo only started at 10am, but by then all cars were blocking your way, and some early birds were already walking up and down to see what kind of giveaways they could get.

 

Image

I was outside pretty much all the time, which basically meant from 9am till 6pm. Long day. But we had a chance to connect with so many new people, and explain what we do, and why we love it – it was all worth it.

 

Image

We were able to all be outside for the last hour or so, besides that the stylists had to work. I honestly had an amazing time, and managed to only get sunburnt in my collarbone (I thought I was very precise with sun block application., guess not).

 

After the business expo was over and we packed everything, we met up with my brother in law and went to O’Sullivans, an Irish bar a couple blocks away from the salon.

Image

Image

Image

We were only there for a short period of time. We ended up going to my brother in  law’s house and the hubs met us there. Safe to say I wasn’t home till 1am. Long.day.indeed.

 

Sunday morning was time to go to my unofficial niece’s Baptism. There is no way I’d miss that. She is a cutie, and her parents are head over heels with her (who wouldn’t? Just look at her outfit!)

ImageThe baptism happened at Redeemer Lutheran Church, and the service was beautiful. I am guilty of not going to the church nearly as much as I’d like. And every time I go I feel like a weight is lifted off my shoulders.

I’m not very religious, nor was I ever growing up. In Brazil there is what we call “Non-practicant Catholicism” which accounts for a good portion of Brazilians that are Catholic. 

I do know, however, that this is a great community. That love, and respect, and kindness are the focus. That helping others is as important as being happy yourself – and I want to be a part of that. I never really agreed with some close minded aspects of the Catholic Church ( and I don’t mean any disrespect to anyone that is Catholic – my whole family is Catholic. And I grew up attending a Catholic School + Sunday Mass). But from Easter on, when I attended my first Lutheran service, something in me clicked.

 

Image

 

After the service, the pastor went outside to greet everyone (that never happened in all the years I went to church back home). I love it! Love the chance to meet those extraordinary, knowledgeable, and kind spirits.

The pastor (it was a she! How amazing is that!?) greeted me and told be in a gentle manner that I have a warm, responsive face, and that she knew all she said was felt by me. Every word. And that she hoped I kept coming back to the services.

I felt warm, I felt honored, I felt welcomed. 

And.. it’s true. The whole time she was talking, or singing, I am soaking it up, I am enjoying those precious minutes of peace, of wholeness. And I want to feel it more often. 

 

Image

 

After basking in her comment, and thinking to myself about making more time for this, I got to hold the lovely Emma. Nothing prepared me, though, for when she went and grabbed my husband’s finger, and it was enough for her to quiet down after we placed her in her carrier.

Moments like this are precious to me. It’s my calling – to be a mom. I feel it. To love our future little miracle, and share all the joy and happiness that we feel.

Pregnancies don’t come too easy on my family. And it worries me. More than I let on. We are not planning for kids for a while, but the thought of not being able to have one terrifies me. I know it’s in God’s hand (whichever God you believe in), and all I can do is hope, and if not, give a sweet little angel a chance of being happy in our family.

This weekend left my heart warm. Left my spirits high. And I loved it.

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

Leave a Reply

