each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

promises the heart makes

8 Comments

I can’t tell you I’m an expert at love. Heck, I’ve only just celebrated my first wedding anniversary.

But there’s this unwavering feel, this utmost desire, in making someone else feel as loved, as whole, as I am.

 

But love, I’ve come to understand,

is more than three words mumbled before bedtime.

Love is sustained by action,

a pattern of devotion in

the things we do for each other

every day.

– Nicholas Sparks

When we were booking our photographer for the wedding, we were already married – legally. So the wonderful Ellie allowed us to switch the Engagement Shoot, for an Anniversary Shoot. And like with our wedding pictures, she delivered. Big time.

We aren’t a perfect couple to work with. We are dorky, and awkward, and it takes time to warm up in front of a camera. But she knows this. She knows us. And we are blessed to have found her.

anniversary_1

I’m all for pictures. I’m all for having constant reminder of the great times, of a time when we were newlyweds, so young, and full of hopes and dreams. Maybe more than others. But Lord knows we fought for this. To be able to be together, and enjoy, and just be happy. Most couples don’t go through some of the trials we did, and we know we are also much more fortunate than others. But we each fight our battles, and I’m happy to know we won this one.

 

anniversary_2

anniversary_3

This first year came with so many amazing memories, but also with some bumps in the roads. Bumps I tried to avoid at all costs, bumps that sometimes took a lot to overcome. But this is what we promised we’d do. Every day of our lives. To go through all those bumps, together.

brian-+-andrea-0047

To learn, and to be patient, and to understand. I know God put him in my life for a reason. He knows we want each other, and knows we can grow that much more with one another. But most of all, He knows that we complete each other. You are my strength when I’m too weak, you are my rock when I fall apart. You taught me to stop worrying about what could have been, and to embrace the now. And I promise you I’m trying to learn.

brian-+-andrea-0053

brian-+-andrea-0084

My wish, is that what we feel now lasts throughout our marriage. That we may inspire our future kids to know that some things don’t come easily, but with perseverance, and courage, and strength, amazing things can happen to you. And when they do, you have to cherish them forever. With your heart and mind.

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

8 thoughts on “promises the heart makes

  1. Coisa maaaaaaais linda de se ler rolissinha! Adorei as fotos e adorei mais ainda os seus olhinhos felizes. Saudades gigantes! Love you

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lindo! Adorei ver esse blog, e saber um pouquinho mais de vocês. Saudades! Beijos!

    Like

  3. Your bubbliness and optimism really shines through :) Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. These are gorgeous! You two look so incredibly adorable together!

    Like

  5. Que fofoooooooo dea!!!! Que vocês sejam eternamente felizes!!! TE AMO AMIGA!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

