each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

monday date nights

3 Comments

B and i try to go on a date as often as we can. How often depends on a variety of things: finances, schedules, mood, weather. We try to go with the flow of the day.

B. is more of a homebody, whereas I love to go out and experience the world. Whereas he’s happy in the house with his computer, I itch when locked up. So we usually have a bunch of mini-dates in the house, where I’ll cook if he’s at work and we will dine together, or we will pick out a movie and cuddle up on the couch with an obscene amount of popcorn, and maybe a dessert, we will take a walk around the neighborhood, etc We live for these times where we can just relax after a stressful day and just spend time together.

Every now and then, though, I feel the itch. Those are the times where B. decides to take me out for a proper date. Oh, how I love thee. The dressing up, the anticipation, the butterflies in the stomach. I love it all. And my husband knows how much I crave it.

So Monday the hubs took me out on a proper date. 

movies

The picture is blurry, but the movie was really nice. I picked out The Purge (and yes, I know it’s not romantic, but I’m a horror movie loving gal). It was weird cause we were the only ones in the theater for the longest time, and right as I asked him to take the picture I looked around and there were 4 other people there as well. Hence why the picture is blurry – we are really shy.

When the movie ended (and yes, I’d recommend it, especially if you liked the first one) we went to a restaurant we both love: Sakura.

sakura_1

I love japanese food. The first time B. took me here I thought we were eating sushi and I was dying of happiness. I have actually never heard of a Japanese Steakhouse before, so it was an amazing surprise when we sat around a burner and the chef started preparing our food then and there.

sakura_3

I  know it’s mostly flourishes, but we had such a great time watching his food work, as well as enjoying a delicious meal. The price is a bit high for our average date night, but every now and then we do spoil ourselves.

sakura_2

We figured we might as well go for the whole experience, so I order a drink called Geisha – yummy pineapple and fruity drink with rum, and B. ordered the Ex-Girlfriend – pretty much a Japanese version of a Long Island Ice Tea.

It was an amazing night, we laughed, we ate, we watched a good movie, we came home to a furry baby. Couldn’t have asked for more.

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

3 thoughts on “monday date nights

  1. I want to see The Purge: Anarchy so bad. I was hoping the first one would have the set up that the second one has so I’m extremely thrilled to see how the second one plays out. They’re having a Purge themed house this year for Halloween Horror Nights at Universal Studios.

    Like

    • Wow! Won’t lie, but I’d be so scared to go to one. haha The movie is just crazy. I really liked it, but I thought I’d get a bit more of the “Anarchy” side. Maybe there will be a 3rd one where this will really shine. (really hoping for that, now).

      Like

  2. I nominated you for a blogging award, you can check it out here
    http://matthewalesci.wordpress.com/2014/07/27/award/
    Hope you don’t mind!

    Like

Leave a Reply

