each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

diy fest

Leave a comment

Well, this weekend has been full of diys over at these parts. My sister came to visit me on Sunday and we ended up going to ikea (our haven) and home depot.

ikea is that type of store that I love/hate. I love most of what I see, and hate that 1. I want to buy everything and 2. that place is a maze and it makes me uncomfortable. It’s too large, but it has everything you need. I mean it – everything.

I found a throw and some cupcake silicone forms my sister recommended – so I failed to leave empty handed. But the damage was minimal. I’m planning a trip back with the hubs in a couple weeks to get some things we need for around the house though.

Home Depot is crazy. It’s also overwhelming, but I feel like I have no right to be there. Like it’s for professionals. Which is funny, because my sister and I connected to this friendly worker who helped us pick the best colors and showed us the “oops” pile – which is up to 70% discounted! I paid $9 for a full gallon of paint. Crazy! 

Safe to say, our brushes and rolls have been hard at work this weekend, and I can’t wait to share it! I just need to finish decorating it! We also found fabrics and things we can’t wait to tackle! I never imagined myself being this DIY for home stuff ( I love diy for parties – I did most of the decor for my wedding as well as my bridal shower).

We still have a few big diy challenges programmed, but now that my sister opened pandora’s box, I can’t wait to start them all! Even the hubs in on board with rolling up our sleeves and getting started. So expect a few more house updates coming soon!

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

Leave a Reply

