each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

taking a leap – update

6 Comments

notimpossible{via}

Life is funny. Sometimes you’re thrown a curve ball that takes you places you’ve never imagined going before. Sometimes it keeps things you’ve wondered about around you, until you’re smart enough to do it.

I’d like to believe I fall on the latter.

If you’ve read my post I was a bit secretive about what my leap was. Well, if you follow me on instagram, or if you take a second to look over to your right, you’d see that my leap was in the form a Calligraphy class. Not any class, but one with the talented Melissa Esplin.

I’ve followed Melissa’s blog for what seems like forever! When the idea to sign up for a class came up it was through one of her beautiful projects. I tried to find something around my area (I like the idea of supporting local artists), but when nothing was open at that time, I knew I had to go back to the source.

Lo and behold, she has a wonderful online calligraphy class. A class that pushes me – that puts me in charge of my evolution. I love the thrill of sending in an exercise to be evaluated. I was lucky enough to hear great feedback until now, but just because the basics are good doesn’t mean the rest of the course will be easy. I definitely don’t expect it to.

But I’m proud that I’m putting effort. That I recognize when I need to train more, when I need to go back and redo something because it’s not as good as it can be. So far my leap is paying off! I’m feeling so excited about the class, about taking time to study and practice. I feel like I’m on my way to something here, guys!

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

6 thoughts on “taking a leap – update

  1. You’re amazing!!!! I love that you are doing something you have wanted to for a long time. Way to go!!! <3

    Like

  2. Great article. I wrote one similar! Feel free to give me your feedback :)

    Like

  3. That is so exciting! I’ve always admired people who had the patience and talent for practicing calligraphy. I think it’s so beautiful! Keep it up! :)

    Like

    • Thanks! I don’t know if I’ve mentioned (sometimes I comment things in my mind and never put them down) but your hair looks amazing short! :) I’m biased though – mine has a very similar cut! :)

      Btw your Baltimore Dare thing is SO cool! I don’t know if I’d have the gut to approach strangers, but it sounds like loads of fun!

      Like

Leave a Reply

