each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

The Best/Worst Vacation (So far) #Blogtober14

Leave a comment

My family always travelled a lot. It was hard picking one to be the best. I absolutely adored going to Disney the first time. I was 11 and it was as magical as I thought it’d be. Machu Pichu still holds a special place in my heart – the energy, the sheer size and meaning of those ruins. You won’t know until you’re there. That paired with the Nazca lines made Peru a trip to remember.

But in the end, I had to pick the one trip that made me grow the most. Not a vacation per se, but it was an amazing trip that definitely changed my life. And it was, to date, both the best and worst of my life.

Welcome, to my life as an exchange student in Germany.

10.3 am 9.6.04 Nr2(I’m the blond one to the left, in black. With the glasses).

I started this journey as a childish 16 year old. One that preferred to stay home, use the computer and socialize only with people that I knew. My parents always encouraged us to open our wings and explore the world, and while my sister took it like a champ, I was the problem child. I was happy where I was, my life was perfect so I always said no.

Well, there’s no such thing as no in my family, so after a month of German lessons, off I went. Ask anybody, and they’d tell you I was miserable – they were probably right. I was so scared!

It was a crazy adventure. Getting to know the 3 families I got to live with, getting to know so many selfless, loving individuals that welcomed me into their family as if I was one of their own. There are no words of gratitude for the Werners, Schmid-Loertzers and Horns. They will always have a piece of my heart, and will be forever a bit of my family.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA(look into that window to the left – that was my little haven).

You taught me how to work for what I want, how to go out and make friends, how to be open and inviting, and how to get out of my comfort zone. And I hope I was able to leave a piece of me that you will always carry as well.

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

TRAVELER DIGITAL CAMERA

DSCN1117

 

Thank you for all the memories. For all the laughter, for all the hugs, all the talks. My life has not been the same since that trip – and I have all of you to thank. Thank you, for making me a better person, a better daughter, a better wife, and a better mom in the future. For taking me all over Germany, for showing me the true OktoberFest, for my first snow experience,for Amsterdam, London, and so much more.

 

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

Leave a Reply

