each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

weekend highlights

Leave a comment

Hey guys! Been a while, hasn’t it. Well let me tell you that life has been anything but crazy.

Friday the 7th was my birthday! The big 2.8 (god, it makes me sound so old!) I spent Thursday getting ready by cooking/cleaning the house and organizing the bottom floor where we would be gathering. In the meantime, Friday morning, I realized that our kitty was sick. If there’s something you know about me, is that my cat is my child. So of course I had a mini freakout session and made the appointment for the vet on the same day.

flowers

Work was stressful, hard, but still rewarding with me getting amazing flowers from my boss/coworkers. Nothing too bad, for sure. I was just not in the right mind. I wanted to come home and see my cat, make sure she is fine.

I’m not going to bother you with too many details, but let’s just say the poor thing has UTI, and one of the symptoms is that they prefer not to use their litterbox – they associate it with pain. So we’ve been keeping our eyes open for any accidents the poor thing may have. Nothing an antibiotic can’t cure, so we still had the party.

It made me so nervous having so many people over. I fret over how they’re going to see the house, if I have enough food, if they’ll be entertained. I had an amazing time, despite freaking out about the details, and I hope everyone had too.

I even cooked them one of our must-haves from Brazil. I now present you with, brigadeiro. It’s heaven on a cup. It’s usually rolled into a ball, but my mix was a bit too creamy, so you can always serve it this way too. No fuss. Just straight up condensed milk and chocolate cooked over medium heat with some butter. Ta-da!

brigadeiro

One of my friends knows that I am a black thumb. I kill pretty much every single plant that I am given. So she took pity on me and gave a cactus. Well, hope I don’t manage to kill that too. It looks beautiful and it already started to bloom! So exciting!

catus

Saturday was normal work, coming home and going straight to bed.

Sunday was fun! We had to go pick up a few things for my niece/nephew, and afterwards we stopped at iHop for brunch. It’s almost a Sunday thing, now. And I’m not complaining.

Later that day we went to my in-laws and had a family gathering. She knows how much I love my calligraphy so I got amazing rice papers and a great set. I pulled it out and went to work with my nieces. They are old enough to understand about being careful with the tips and the pressure.

Here’s a small sample of what we did that night.

calligraphy

I had a lovely time. We came home and tried to watch a movie,  but I fell asleep, and so did our cat. Guess Liam Neeson just missed the mark for us this time, didn’t he Aeris?

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

Leave a Reply

