each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

crying over spilled ink

4 Comments

Yup, not over spilled milk. Over spilled ink.

Apparently leaving your theoretically closed ink on the table equals asking for the cat to swat it to the ground. Safe to say our perfect, less than a year old carpets suffered greatly from it. My heart fell. I wish I took a picture of the original ink stain. It was the size of an egg – maybe.

But the ink had seeped way bellow that stain. My heart dropped with that ink bottle.

All I can think of is my precious carpet. I’m not mad at my cat – she always plays like that. I’m mad at myself for leaving that ink bottle out of my box. I kept it there so it’d remind me to finish some of my calligraphy work. And look at that reminder.

phase1

We are trying everything. We’ve tried pretty much everything. 5 different cleansers, just water, steam vacuums.  It just seems to spread wider and deeper. It took us days and at least 3 bottles of different cleansers, but I see a light at the end of the tunnel. I thank the heavens that the ink is water soluble. All I want is for my carpet to look nice again.

We are prepared to deal with the worse – to add new carpet to our dinning room. We are prepared to shed the money and hire an amazing company. But first we wanted to exhaust our options, so we rented out a very powerful steam vacuum from Home Depot. We were hoping it would work well enough at least.

home depot rental

This was after a few swipes. You see that?! I mean, nowhere near what it once was, but by golly this brought me some comfort. Take a minute to look over the other picture and come back. Is your heart feeling lighter too? Mine is.

The battle continued. We got the machine for a full day, so we are cleaning all the rooms. What a day off, right? Trying to make sense of this ink disaster taught me to put stuff away. Geez, lesson learned.

We let it sit for a few days, to give it time to dry. Stain is still there, not at all gone.  We definitely are still working with it. My mother in law sent us home with this freaky product called Folex Instant Carpet Stain Remover. I’m almost afraid to put the name here cause I need all the supply I can get. And no, I am in no way being sponsored by them. (Though if you know them, go ahead and tell them my story. I’m on my 5th bottle, so I’d love to be sponsored by them!) haha

By no means is it not visible, but if you look back at the other picture, and than this, you’ll know how much better it’s turning. If this is what I’ll have to live with, so be it. I’m still hitting myself over leaving that ink out, but we all make mistakes, right?

phase3

And this, is the final product, for now. So freaking happy with it. We will still try to work on it, but it looks decent now. It looks like a normal stain, not like you dropped a whole ink pot on the carpet. I don’t think I want carpets when the kids come.. nope. I shall look into buying a house with nice hardwood floors on the dinning room.

In the meantime, I’ve dreamt of a couple rug options for the place. (I feel like rugs on carpets are so pointless.. but trust me, I know I need them now).

I’ll share them with you soon. Maybe a very nice Christmas gift?

 

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

4 thoughts on “crying over spilled ink

  1. Wow! It looks so much better! I know you’ve tried probably ever single product out there but from the picture you can’t really even tell anything happened!

    Like

  2. Whew! That’s a scary one…I just got into brush lettering with ink. Thank you for the reminder of being careful with my supplies!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

