each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

christmas diy

2 Comments

I mentioned before that I worked on some DIYs for Christmas.

This one was one of the coziest, cat frenzy DIYs I’ve ever made. I actually got inspired from a magazine warn covered word, and thought I could do that for half of that hefty $70 price tag.

I went to JoAnn’s fabrics and scored 3 letters for $2 a piece, and yarn for just under $4. I used 3 yarns for all the letters.

So all in all, this project can be done for around $20 dollars. I really, really like how much personality is has. I had to follow some tutorials for the wrapping part. It’s a lot trickier than I thought. But I like how it turned out.

Eu já tinha mencionado que tinha feito uns projetos pro Natal.

Esse é um dos fofos, quentinhos, e que deixou minha gata louca. Eu tinha visto esse projeto em uma revista, por um preço total de $70 dólares. Eu sabia que conseguiria replicar sem ter que pagar tanto assim por isso.

Eu fui na loja JoAnn’s fabrics e consegui 3 letras por mais ou menos $2 dólares cada. Eu realmente adorei quanta personalidade esse projeto tem. Eu tive que seguir uns tutoriais online, ainda mais pra enrolar a lã. Foi um pouco mais complicado do que eu esperava, mas eu realmente adorei o resultado!

joy

 

The wrapping around the O made it a bit frizzy, but nothing that some grooming afterwards couldn’t cover.

joy_xmas

When I made those I had a clear idea of using it on our mantel. But the thing is, we don’t have one! haha It’s definitely on our list to get one, and we are, for Christmas. So, for this year, we have it on the tv room. I think it looks gorgeous with this garland (also bought with the mantel in mind).

Enrolar em volta da letra O fez a lã ficar um pouco frizada, mas nada que pentear um pouco a lã não ajeitasse.

Quando eu vi o projeto eu tinha uma idéia de colocar na prateleira da lareira. Mas a gente não tem uma! haha Ainda, porque vamos ganhar uma no Natal. Então esse ano, colocamos as letras na nossa sala de tv. Eu acho que está linda com a guirlanda, que a gente também vai usar na lareira.

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

2 thoughts on “christmas diy

  1. Loving your new blog design and this cute little DIY project! I may have to try this sometime!

    Like

    • thank you! It truly is super easy, just time consuming! Btw I’m giving the calligraphy pens a shot this Christmas! so excited to try it! :)Thanks for the recommendation!

      Like

Leave a Reply

