each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

the most special of all diys

2 Comments

Over Thanksgiving weekend the hubs and I went to visit my sister and brother in law. Yup, the same sister carrying that amazing niece/nephew of mine (we’ll find out soon!) with that bump that I envy.

Well, my sister entrusted me with the most special diy yet: the nursery! She wanted to paint a forest, and I was enlisted as the artist. This is the picture I got Friday morning – a little teaser of my canvas!

No fim de semana de Ação de Graças eu e Brian visitamos minha irmã e meu cunhado. Sim, sim, a mesma irmã que está carregando meu tão esperado sobrinho/sobrinha ( vamos saber daqui a pouco!) com aquela barriguinha de dar inveja.

Bem, minha irmã me deixou responsável pelo mais especial projeto que já fiz: o quarto do bebê!  Ela já tinha a ideia definida – uma floresta, e eu fui chamada como artista pra pintar o mural. Essa foi a primeira foto que recebi na sexta.

bare

So, we got there Saturday night and went over our game plan. Next morning, we let our husbands sleep, woke up, ran some errands, picked up one more green shade (I convinced her to use 2 different greens for the trees), and headed back home. I wish I took more pictures of the city. Whether you like small cities or not, Salisbury has its own charm, and little treasures and cute buildings at every turn.

But we headed back and got started. But first things first: the mama had to be all bundled into the safety mask because we want to protect baby Hill.

Chegamos lá Sábado a noite, conversamos, decidimos os formatos e tudo mais. Quando a manhã chegou, nós deixamos os maridos dormindo e fomos resolver as coisas na rua, escolher mais um tom de verde ( eu a convenci que o efeito seria muito mais bonito com dois tons nas árvores), e aí sim voltamos pra casa. Eu queria ter tirado mais fotos da cidade. Gostando ou não de pequenas cidades, Salisbury tem um charme todo seu, com tesouros e casas lindas espalhadas pelas ruas.

Mas voltamos e começamos a pintar. Bem, primeiro: ter certeza que mamãe estava protegida, e com ela o bebê Hill.

us

We first outlined what we wanted in chalk. We found out this worked a lot better than pencil – gave me more stability to freehand the shapes, and it’s so easy to clean up!

Nós decidimos primeiro que desenharíamos todas as formas com giz. Além de ter mais estabilidade do que lápis, é muito mais fácil de limpar.

start

Once we had them outlined we decided which green would go where, and played around with heights and sizes. Once we were ready, we filled them in! I’m the “artist” of the family – meaning I’m the one with some painting experience (on canvas), so I was responsible for making sure the edges were as perfect as I could get them.

Uma vez que aprovamos as formas, decidimos qual verde iria em qual parte, e quais as alturas e tamanhos. Depois de tudo resolvido nós começamos a pintar! Eu sou a “artista” da família – o que significa que eu tenho um pouco de experiência, então fiquei responsável por definir todas as bordas e deixá-las o mais perfeito possível.

shapes

After this point, where we added all the trees, we had to let them sit for an hour or two. During that time we ate some lunch, took a nap and just enjoyed each other and the friendly banter when you add the family.

By 4pm we started on the trunks. We knew which ones had to be larger (to accommodate a night light) and we wanted them to be free handed. As you can probably tell none of the shapes are perfect. It’s not a perfect circle, nor is it a perfect drop. But honestly, that is the effect I was going for. I wanted it to have personality and be hand drawn. So we did not use rulers.

Depois de terminar as copas das árvores tivemos que deixar a tinta secar por umas horas. Nesse meio tempo nós almocamos, tiramos uma soneca e aproveitamos a companhia um do outro e a discussão amigável entre família.

Por volta de 4 da tarde nos comecamos a pintar os caules. Nós já sabíamos quais tinham que ser mais largos (pra caber a luz) e sabíamos que não queríamos algo perfeito. Como você já pode ver as formas não são perfeitas – não é um círculo perfeito, e nem uma gota perfeita. Mas honestamente, esse era o look que estávamos querendo. Algo com personalidade e estilo, então tem encostamos em uma régua para os troncos.

final_phase1

ta-da! At this point it was nearing 7:30pm and Brian and I had a 3:30 hour drive ahead of us. So I left the edges ready, as well as the trunks that overlapped with the trees. You can see that it still needs a second coat – which my sister and brother in law will probably do.

I’ll ask them for a picture of it when they do add it. Besides that we were talking of maybe some clouds, or sticker birds (wall decal) in different colors to have something baby Hill can play with later. How cool would that be?

ta-da! Nesse ponto já eram 7:30 da noite, e Brian e eu tínhamos uma viagem de três horas e meia pela frente. Então eu fiz questão de deixar todas as bordas terminadas, assim como os galhos que aparecem nas copas. Dá pra perceber que ainda precisamos colocar a segunda mão – minha irmã e meu cunhado certamente vão pintar.

Eu vou pedir pra uma foto depois que o mural estiver completo. Além disso ela está pensando em adicionar algumas nuvens, ou adesivos de pássaros coloridos nas árvores – algo que baby Hill possa mudar no futuro. Que legal que seria?

 

Well, let me know what you think! But please be nice – it’s a very dear project to us.

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

2 thoughts on “the most special of all diys

  1. omgosh that looks absolutely amazing! You did such a great job. I’m so impressed.

    Like

  2. That is so fabulous!! Seriously great!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

