each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

christmas cookies!

1 Comment

This week has been loaded with kitten medicine, adjusting to her new diet (and me trying to learn how to say no to food!) and lots of work.

My work load usually doubles during the holidays, and we end up adding Mondays as well sometimes. And with us visiting my family as well, our christmas list doubled and we are taking forever to accomplish that. But as of today we are finally done! yay!

So Saturday we worked late, and I was welcomed home with a home cooked meal form the hubs as well as beautiful, glittery flowers (he knows me too well). We also scored our New Year’s looks! More on that later, though.

Essa semana foi lotada de remédios para a nossa felina, ajustes na dieta dela ( e eu aprendendo a dizer não quando ela pede comida), e muito, muito trabalho.

Minha carga normalmente duplica durante o fim do ano. Nós até acabamos adicionando algumas Segundas. E com a nossa viagem chegando, nossa lista de presentes também duplicou, e nós estamos demorando bastante pra completá-la. Mas, hoje, nós finalmente podemos dizer que terminamos!

Sábado eu acabei trabalhando tarde, e fui recebida em casa com uma comida caseira feita pelo maridão, e lindas flores com glitter (ele me conhece muito bem). Nós também conseguimos comprar nossos looks do Ano Novo – mais sobre isso em outro post!

tree

Sunday we woke up early to go on some last minute gift hunting for christmas, and headed over to my in-laws for some cookies fun. My mil and I prepared the batter and melted the chocolate, to leave it as ready as possible for when the kids got home.

Domingo nós acordamos cedo pra procurar os últimos presentes de Natal, e depois fomos para a casa dos meus sogros pra completar a tradição de biscoitos de Natal. Minha sogra e eu preparamos a massa, derretemos o chocolate e cortamos as formas, pra deixar tudo o mais pronto possível pra quando as crianças chegassem.

batter2

batter

We had such a good time. I love having all family together – I spent the whole time in the kitchen getting artsy with my youngest niece. The oldest was feeling a little under the weather, but we still did lots.

Nós nos divertimos muito. Eu amo poder reunir toda a família – eu fiquei praticamente o tempo todo na cozinha decorando os biscoitos com a minha sobrinha mais nova. A mais velha não estava se sentindo muito bem, mas ainda tentamos passar um tempo juntas.

cookies_decor

niece

Those are the moments I hope my nieces take with them. I hope when they are older they remember the fun we had, they remember I am here for them. I myself depended so heavily on my aunt right before I came over to the US, when my parents were living away. So I know how important it is for them to have us. And at the end of the day, there’s nothing sweeter than your niece hugging you tight and saying: “Thank you for decorating the cookies with me, aunt Andrea”.

Esses são os momentos que eu espero que elas se lembrem. Eu espero que quando elas cresçam elas se lembrem do quanto nos divertimos, de que estarei sempre aqui para elas. Antes de me mudar para os Estados Unidos eu fiquei bem dependente de minha própria tia, quando meus pais estavam morando fora da cidade. Então eu sei o quão importante é ter tias. E no fim do dia, não há nada mais doce do que sua sobrinha te dar um abraço forte de dizer: “Obrigada por decorar os biscoitos comigo, tia Andréa”.

cookies

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

One thought on “christmas cookies!

  1. #1. Your gifts are wrapped and look so pretty!!! I soooo wish I had mine wrapped already…maybe that’s a project for tonight.
    #2. It looks like your nieces had so much fun with you. Those cookies look amazing. You should definitely blog your recipe :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

