each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

vacation recap pt.2- Rio

1 Comment

Rio, rio. You are gorgeous, but so unbearably hot. I tell you, 115º F is not for us. We stepped out of the plane into this heavy, hazy hot air. And that’s how all our days were.

Our first day was spent with my family. Grandma and her marvelous cooking, a true feast! If there’s one thing I truly miss from Brazil, it would be feijoada. Our black beans, served with farofa (ground yucca), rice, and collard greens fried with garlic and butter. Ah, my mouth still waters. Of course Brian doesn’t like the beans, but boy, does he enjoy farofa. Everywhere we went we had it.

rio_grandmasfood

We spent the rest of the day with my family. Exchanging gifts, exchanging life stories, joys and troubles. It was magical. Later that night my aunt took us on a ride around Rio, showing Brian all the beautiful beaches, people, places and nightlife.

rio_saoconrado rio_ipanema rio_copacabana

We met with my cousin and took a ride around Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas, where the famous Christmas tree was still lit up.

rio_lagoario_lagoa2 rio_lagoa3

The next morning we did what we went down for: beach! My amazing friends took us there, and let me tell you.. Well, actually, let me show you.

rio_camboinhas2

rio_camboinhas

We were actually joking that my friend (the feet on the left) is considered almost a vampire by Brazilian standards.. and look at that.. we win! We are.. ghosts?!

rio_camboinhas3

After the beach they took us to this amazing, mouth watering Portuguese restaurant, called Seu Antonio, where we had by far the best coconut shrimp I’ve ever had in my life. They serve it inside a coconut, and of course, use the real juice as part of the sauce. Mouth watering, I tell you.

rio_seuantonio2

rio_seuantonio

 

We finished eating and went back home for a quick nap. Later that afternoon we went over to one of my friend’s house to celebrate her birthday. I was almost teary-eyed when I saw them. It’s been almost two years, after all. But not only that, it’s so beautiful to see how far we’ve all come. And there are so many weddings in 2015 I’d love to be able to attend!!

rio_luanyrio_luany2

On Sunday we slept in, and went to visit my best friend and his family, whom I’ve known since I was 3. We had a wonderful time, it was magical.

We walked over to the city park, got a little knick knack to put in our home and went over to Rio to see my friend. I didn’t have my phone on me, so there was a bit of misunderstanding. But in the end, we made it, and it was wonderful to see not only her, but how happy and fulfilled she is at this place in her life. And it makes me so happy.

rio_cobalpri2 rio_cobalpri

After meeting with them we went over to a dear couple’s apartment. And let me tell you. I love them. I truly do. They are wonderful, hard working people, who deserve all the best life has to offer. My friend has a new brewery, Hocus Pocus, and the beer is amazing. Truly delicious. I’m excited to see how far he’ll go with it this year.

rio_hocuspocus2 rio_hocuspocus1

And this, concludes our quick Rio visit. I hope you were able to hang on through all these pictures! Brasilia doesn’t have quite as many I think.

I had the most wonderful time. And it’s weird to see how life moves on without you there, you know? I had a lot of out-of-body experiences trying to get caught up on everything that was going on. But such is life. It moves on, with or without you. And it’s a wonderful thing!

Stay tuned for more tourist things in Brasilia on the next post!

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

One thought on “vacation recap pt.2- Rio

  1. I was really glad to see you, Dea. Mas as saudades não foram embora!!

    Te amo deinha!! Volte sempre

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

