each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

little art corner

4 Comments

Ever since I moved in with the hubs I’ve tweaked things in the house. I’ve put my little stamp here, a piece of my heart there, a little bit of my soul around that.

I’ve tried to make this house our home. An inviting, cozy retreat. We’ve changed so much already. And I love every corner of it. There was one thing missing though.

I needed a little space of mine. I needed a desk big enough that I could have all my art supplies near: computer, pens, colored pencils, calligraphy pens, rulers, paint, brushes, etc.

Brian and I have been sharing a L-shaped dress in our office. And don’t get me wrong, this setup is loved. It truly is. I love having a place that we can both hang out, and I love the window seat in the office too. But then I got the craving to get a bigger desk.

We’ve studied options that we could do in the same room, but B truly is smitten with this desk and is finding hard to part with it. At the same time, we don’t want to be working out of separate floors. So for now, we’ve left our computers on the office – where I do most of my blogging and browsing- and I’ve claimed the very back of our tv room as my arts + crafts station.

After searching for over 2 weeks, and some terrible experiences with ordering a particular desk from amazon (2 shipments came in broken and terribly packaged) we finally found a perfect desk at ikea. I have throughly enjoyed putting it all together, and specially decorating it. It’s been super fun and challenging. I’m trying to use a few more things that I already have in the house, since I have been spending a bit more than I should in all the baby shower details.

Without further ado, here’s the sneak peek of the room without all the decor.

artcorner3artcorner2 artcorner

 

I’ve been using the table for about a week now. And boy, do I love it. I can spread all my supplies around me and I still have space to create. It’s lovely. The biggest challenge has been decorating the shelf. I’ve raided other rooms looking for items that I could move there, and next thing will be to bring some of my books over to that empty shelf.

I’m also after a few storage boxes (cute ones) for papers and what nots, but so far the space has been everything that I truly needed, and this makes for one happy gal.

Any ideas on how to decorate the space? I’d love to hear it!

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

4 thoughts on “little art corner

  1. I’m terrible at decorating (trust me, my bedroom walls have been bare for three years) but wow, I am in LOVE with your table and chair! Mostly the chair. I love that chair and I need it in my life. Haha. I love the set up! :D

    (I also love that you and Brian have been sharing an L-shaped dress ;) I think you might have a typo…unless you actually do share an L-shaped dress, in which case I want photos of that!)

    Like

    • Hi Kendel, we do actually share a L-shaped. Maybe i’m calling it wrong? I’ll post about it. It’s actually designed for one person only, but we both managed to fit our computers in one. I’ll post about it once we finish decorating the office too. :)

      Thanks! I actually love the chair! It’s really sturdy and it looks amazing in my opinion. Brian keeps telling me it looks like a salon chair because of the base. haha I found it on amazon here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007B71ZH2/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

      I have yet to put too much up on the walls, but i have a couple of ideas. mainly I’m thinking of putting my own art, but easier said than done..

      Like

  2. I wish I were better at decorating. I have big dreams of hanging things on our walls, but I forget to make time for it. So I have like 30 picture frames for a gallery wall, and they are currently in a closet waiting to be hung. How sad!

    I love your decor! The fresh flowers are so pretty!

    Like

  3. haha same here. I have mostly my drawings up with wash tape in the office, but for this area I’m at a loss. One day I’ll get there! And thanks! They were from the hubs for Valentines. I love fresh flowers but I hate having to throw them away after only a week.. Now I’ll have to think of something else to put up, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

