each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

trainings and realizations

2 Comments

Sunday morning, in a sub freezing chill, I was out to go to an education class. Like most, I woke up hoping for icy roads so I could stay snuggled in my blankets with the kitten and the hubs.

No such luck. Or was it?

Since moving to the US I’ve been lucky to be working with my mother in law. Better than that, we actually get along! I love her and all that she’s done for me. But I’m not working with what I graduated on, which means, I’m not making as much money as I could.

And I know sometimes it’s fine, and life changes, and paths change. But every time I talk about it I’m ashamed. It’s a horrible feeling – to be ashamed of something.

I know it’s crazy, why should I be ashamed when I work hard for my money anyway? But I am letting everyone down. First and foremost, my parents. Who were wonderful and put me through college. Who invested all that money so I could be someone. And I feel like I’m a nobody.

But the training made me feel powerful, in a way. So what if I’m a Salon and Media Coordinator? I sat around wonderful people at that class, who were proud of what they do. And here I am, sitting in the corner and secretly ashamed of it. What is my problem?

It’s up to me to make the most out of my situation. And trust me, I already have.

inhalevia

I took what I learned and started to make some changes. Anything that was within my reach was tweaked. I cleaned the whole front area, re organized everything, placed any orders we needed to, sat down with our stylists/assistants and implemented new tactics.

So far we have already gotten praise from the owner. Things are going smoothly. And even when a situation came up, instead of getting flustered, I helped with finding a solution. This week definitely brought me back to good spirits, all in all. We still see favoritism, and still wonder about how to change and improve, but this things take time.

I’m proud of how far we’ve come in such a short time, and I’m sure we can improve tons.

And that’s the lesson I took from my training. Be proud of where you are – and who you are. No matter what, I have to be proud of my life, my job. The moment I wasn’t, it all went down.

beproudvia

 

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

2 thoughts on “trainings and realizations

  1. It is an easy trap to slip into, that of assuming that we must achieve worldly success to “be someone.” You are someone already! :-) And accomplishment is not measured in dollars and cents. I am pretty sure your parents prize you for the gift you are with or without that expensive education, my girl! You are so right – you must take pride in your work and go that extra mile to feel the self-worth and satisfaction that hard work brings. :-) Mother Hen

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for the kind words. Sometimes you just need a little help realizing how much you’re worth. I was truly falling into a bad routine, but I’m all fired up again. :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

