each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

What’s in a number?

Leave a comment

Yesterday one of my best friends and I were chatting, and she mentioned how she was feeling “threatened” by turning 29 later this year. You know why?

Because according to her she has “nothing to show for it”. And then 2 things hit me like bricks:

1. My birthday is a few short months after hers. That means, I too, am turning 29 this year. Yikes!

2. Do I have anything to show for it?

What is so important about 30 that we think we have to have our lives figured out? I don’t know. But getting close to 30 does weird things to a person. I for one get anxious about having something to my name. A great job, a family, perhaps. No matter what by 30 I wanted to be doing what I love most. It was on that mindset that I opened my shop.

Why not? Why wait? I’m already 28, how much longer until you just make the changes you want?

Time for Beginningsvia

I know it’s silly to fear a number. What’s in a number?

I don’t know if I have an answer for that. Truly don’t. But when you’re close to it, you feel like there has to be more to life than what you are doing. I don’t know where my art will take me, or even if it’ll take me anywhere.

What I do know, is that I wanted something new – no, I needed it. I needed to know I could follow through with my dream – of spending my life creating beautiful things. Of bringing happiness and joy to others through my art.

Do you fear 30? Have you reached it? Is there some big turn, or are we all silly to be so threatened by it?

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

Leave a Reply

