each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

be part of a community

13 Comments

he-is-risen

Yesterday was a wonderful day. We woke up bright and early to go to mass, dressed our best, and went on our way. I mentioned before we are trying to find our own Church, but we went to my in-laws this time. Their church is so welcoming, everyone knows each other, and it makes me want to find ours even more.

The most wonderful thing I took from the sermon was that it’s wonderful to be able to celebrate an occasion together, but that being part of a community is always better.

That resonated so much with me. That is the #1 reason we want to find a church and start attending frequently. We want this sense of belonging, this sense of community. I want to be active in my community, make friends, open my heart and find peace.

I’m sure I was meant to be at that mass, listening to that sermon. That was my message, the one I needed to hear. And I’m truly grateful that I did.

I also did this inspired Pinterest dish and it was a success. I kept it pretty much the same, the only thing I didn’t add was the California seasoning, because I have no idea what that is, nor did I have the time to look it up. But it tasted pretty good. I wish the kids could’ve seen it as a carrot, but by the time they got there we had already taken a considerable amount!

I hope you all had an amazing Easter, and that you found something to be grateful about as well.

Grateful Heart w/ Ember Grey

*linking again with the wonderful Ember Grey for her Grateful Hearts Monday linkup. Be sure to check her and the other wonderful bloggers.

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

13 thoughts on “be part of a community

  1. We moved to Atlanta about 9 months ago and we still haven’t been able to find a new home church. I miss having that community. You’re absolutely right, it’s very important and it does make the celebration of Easter and our faith that much more special. I’m so glad you were able to celebrate with friends and family!

    Like

    • thanks! So was I. I’ve never really been a part of a church community, but there’s something telling me this is the way to go. I moved about a couple of years ago, but never had that as a priority. I hope we do find one. I have a couple on the list to visit, so we shall see. Hopefully you’ll find yours too!

      Like

  2. If there was one thing that my husband and I knew for sure when we were planning for our kids was that having them in a church would be a definite. Living in a community that is full of church going families I knew that I needed to stop avoiding it and help bring my family in. It’s amazing the feeling you get when you are apart of something. Happy Monday!

    Like

    • We are planning to start a family at one point, and that’s definitely been a great motivator. It’s just hard to make friends outside of your work, or find much to do in the community. I went to a catholic school growing up but my family was never too big on going to church. I’m not sure how I’ll be when the kids come, but for now we really just want to find our own space, and a purpose. Happy Tuesday! ;)

      Like

  3. We JUST signed up to get involved in small groups at the church we’ve been attending the last 3 months… it just felt like it was time. The pastor at our church, a few weeks ago, said that instead of thinking, “What can this church do for me?” ask yourself, “What can I do for this church? What can I give?” – it totally changed the way I’ve been searching for “our” church. And that’s one of the reasons I knew I wanted to stay at this one… not only did that make so much sense to me but there was such a great focus on the church as well as neighborhood communities!

    Like

    • that’s so true! I love the sermons on my in-laws church, but it is far enough that the journey would end up making us regret it, or not attend. There are a couple around us that I really want to check out. Maybe we can find our own community, and be able to give back.

      Like

  4. Finding that community is so important. It took us two years to find the church we now go to, and I wouldn’t trade it for the world.
    I hope you find yours soon!

    Like

  5. I love this! You were exactly where God wanted you to be to hear exactly what He wanted you to hear! I love our church and even though it’s huge, I am involved in so many aspects of it and it’s a wonderful community! I hope you are able to find your home church and get connected!

    Like

    • I think so too, that message was spot on to me. It’s funny how we’re always asking “for a sign” about which way to go and when it happens it just leaves me in awe. I’m glad you still found a way to get involved even when it’s so big. It goes to show no matter what help is always needed.

      Like

  6. Hi! I hope you find your church. My family is also wanting to find a church. I attended the same one growing up, but sometimes you grow out of it, or you don’t share the same views they teach. It’s hard for me because in my small town, people can be very nasty and judgmental and gossipy. That is what I want to steer clear of. You wouldn’t think you’d see that at church, but sometimes you do. It has kept me from going back. I wish you the absolute best and I hope you find the one you are looking for. God will show you the way!

    Like

  7. I’ve been going to church my whole life and my husband and I have been pastors for the past 10 years and you are SO right…we NEED community! My whole life has been based around church community and I honestly don’t think I’d still be where I am today, serving the Lord, if it weren’t for such a strong community of believers around me!

    Like

  8. I’m glad you had a good Easter! I agree that I love my church because of the awesome community. I hope you find one soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

