each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

at peace

8 Comments

spring flowers

This month, The Peony Project prompts us to look at this word: peace.

Lately, I have felt anything but at peace. My mind was spinning, and thoughts were as nasty as they come. It was awful, it was weighing me down, and boy, did I impose on so many people with my problems.

Mother Teresa always preached that peace is only achieved through love and compassion. That’s what I was lacking. I came to the table full of resentment and anger, and it weighed me down a ton. I prayed, I sought council, help, advice – anything! But even I knew, that deep down, I had all this anger clasped tight and close to my heart.

There is no peace until you learn to let go.

It turns out, the one person I needed to talk to was the last one I sought. Isn’t it almost funny? All my praying, reading, analyzing, pointed me in that direction, but I was too scared to admit I had a problem to begin with.

I sat down, opened my heart, expecting to be laughed at, or to be further hurt. But the opposite happened. The weight was lifted. I could finally see beyond the darkness. I was shown compassion, and immeasurable love.

I can honestly say: I’m at peace.

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

8 thoughts on “at peace

  1. Resentment and anger… destroyers of peace.
    Great post!

    Like

  2. So beautifully written, thank you for sharing. So glad that you’re feeling peace now. It’s hard to go on with everything else you need to do in your life when you’re feeling conflicted and weighted down by other troubles.

    Like

    • I’m glad you liked it Justine. Thanks for checking it out. It’s absolutely true. It goes with you no matter where you go. It’s awful. I’m feeling so much better now. It tries to come back but I take a second to breathe and practice my “letting go” skills. So far, so good!

      Like

Leave a Reply

