each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

Reverse Bucket List

21 Comments

This month’s The Circle Linkup is all about what you already crossed off of your bucket list. It’s such a neat and different idea. I feel we take so much time putting down things we want to accomplish in life, and rarely take a step back to admire all that you have already accomplished.

I don’t think I’ve accomplished much in my life – or at least nothing extremely big. But this mindset is what inspired me to join in this month. I should appreciate all that I’ve done, and all my experiences. So here’s a (very) short list of my reverse bucket list.

 

1. Travelled the world

machu-pichu

Or at least a little bit of it. But my mother always told me traveling is the best way of knowing the place, the people and the culture. I’m thankful for all the memories they’ve provided us by taking us in these amazing trips. So far, apart from my exchange year abroad, my favorite trip was to Machu Picchu, in Peru.

 

2. Did an exchange year abroad

deutschland

I was called Peter Pan till I was 16 – for fear of growing up. That’s when my parents decided to send me to an exchange year to Germany. I was able to learn a new language, make new friends, and make my own memories. I hated leaving my friends, but it was by far the best experience I had growing up. And let me tell you.. I thought school was hard in Portuguese… nothing compares to having physics and math in German. Nope!

 

3. Got my B.A

Marymount University

My parents are rockstars. No, truly. They put me through school and somehow put us through school in the US (which we all know is not cheap). I was able to graduate and have zero student loans to worry about. (seriously, that’s the one thing I want to provide my kids with, given the opportunity).

 

4. Married my best friend

wedding

I know half the people roll their eyes at reading “my best friend”. I was one of you too. I was. But that was before you realize that when something happens, he’s the first you want to call, he’s in all your best memories, he’s the first one on your txt history. He’s always there. You don’t remember, almost, a time when he wasn’t part of your story. Not that you don’t have wonderful memories of your friends, but people who think like I do, know what I mean.

 

5. Packed up and left

It’s funny how in the movies you see people leaving behind their lives to follow love. And it’s all fun and games, until you have to actually do it. I can’t say for everyone else, but when we had to move back to Brazil after my father was done with his mission, I never really went back. Somehow, in the short 2 years we’ve lived here, I grew roots. My heart knew, even before I realized, that this would be the place to call home.

I think it’s wonderful that I will be able to share our story with our kiddos and encourage them to fly. There truly are no boundaries to love.

 

 6. Ran a 5k
color run

Not only a 5k, but the happiest 5k on the planet. And trust me, happy it was. Now I want to do another one – just because of how much fun it was.

 

I loved taking a minute remembering the accomplishments I can already cross off my list. I wish there were even more to add, but soon enough I hope to. That’s an idea.. maybe revisit this in 5 or 10 years and see how far I’ve come to accomplish it.

 

THE CIRCLE LINK-UP

 

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

21 thoughts on “Reverse Bucket List

  1. Love this link up! Sounds like you’ve already accomplished alot! Keep at it!

    Like

    • thanks! Every time I look at it I’m like: it’s not too shabby after all. I’d love to add to it, but I know in time I will. Not all of it is in my control, so I do think I’ll revisit this in a few years or so. :)

      Like

  2. Your list is perfect. I, too, had thoughts about my list and if it was “good enough” to be shared. But like you said, it doesn’t have to be long and it doesn’t have to be filled with crazy extraordinary things. I LOVE that your list had things that are just such important life accomplishments (like graduating and studying abroad and getting married!). It makes me feel like I know 100times better now. :)

    Thanks for linking up!

    Like

    • Thank you for putting up such good linkups out! :) I love joining them. And it’s true.. This space of mine is supposed to focus on being thankful for every little thing. And all these are dear to me. It’s actually funny that I’ve been going around the linkup and seeing things I could’ve added too… oh well, there’s always next time! :)

      Like

  3. I love the idea of a reverse bucket list!

    Like

  4. You have accomplished a lot. Good job.

    Like

  5. Love this idea! The picture at yalls wedding is so pretty!

    Like

  6. OMG, I love this idea. So doing this! You’ve done some great, cool things. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  7. This link up is so fun! You’ve done lots of stuff too! Getting my BA and MA are some of my biggest accomplishments. It’s so much harder than it looks. Running a 5k is on my list, but I just can’t get myself in the mind set to train.

    Like

    • I think education is always a cause for celebration. :) We should def pat ourselves in the back. I was running with a lot more frequency back then, but this one specifically required 0 training. haha most people were too preoccupied with being in the fun zone to remember to run.. haha

      Like

  8. Loved this list! So fun. Made me reflect on the things I’ve done in life as well. Great post :)

    Like

  9. My mother is Peruvian! Dying to get to Machu Picchu. I’ve been to Peru but never been able to make that journey there.

    Like

    • we were too young and my parents were too fond of us doing the trail, but even the train up there is amazing. If you get a chance you should go! It’s absolutely breath taking.

      Like

  10. That is so awesome that you did a year as an exchanged student!! I had a couple friends in high school who were exchanged students from China! It sounds like such an awesome experience! What part of Germany did you go to? I used to live there when I was younger! How fun that you lived in Brazil! So many awesome memories you must have made growing up!!! :)

    Like

    • Hi Aubrey! On the exchange program we spent 1 month in Berlin living with families there, and then I moved to Porta-Westfalica, which is fairly close to Hannover. I had a blast! It was hard adjusting to a complete different language, but the people are so welcoming! When did you live there?

      Like

  11. Pingback: This Is Already the Good Life: A Bucket List in Reverse | The Nested Nomad

Leave a Reply

