each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

the problem with holding it in

4 Comments

This week at work we heard that one of our dear friends had to go to the hospital. She apparently had a nervous breakdown and wasn’t herself anymore.

Of course we are all shaken, and devastated. She has a beautiful heart, she is helpful and always makes us laugh. Her life isn’t easy, we all know that. But I guess it went way beyond what we knew.

The point is: she was holding it in. She was holding too much in. She couldn’t take it anymore. She’s so selfless that she puts everyone’s needs ahead of her own. But everything caught up to her, and we can only wish/pray for her to have a speedy recovery. We are all missing her terribly already.

self carevia

If you know me well enough, you’d know that this is something I’ve struggled with. I hold too much in.

There are too many silly fears and worries that I hold in. Too many “what ifs” and “why” and “why didn’t it?” that I keep to myself.

My husband will be the first to tell me I shouldn’t do it. And I know so too. I’m trying to change, but you can’t change overnight. It takes time, patience, and a lot of trials/errors. But after this unfortunate accident I’ve come to realize how holding it in takes you nowhere.

I have a wonderful support system. Between my family, Brian’s family, and himself, I’m covered. I know this. And I will be trying my hardest to change. To listen to my body, to let go of what I can’t change and take this off of my load.

No more holding it in. But sharing the load. Keeping my mind healthy and sane.

Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 7.52.54 AMvia

* If you could please pray for her recovery, or keep her in your thoughts, it would mean the world to me.

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

4 thoughts on “the problem with holding it in

  1. So true and beautifully said. It’s so important to not let your pain turn into suffering, which is what happens when it’s held in. Lovely.

    Like

  2. So well said. Prayers for your friend! xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

