each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

thank you, mothers

16 Comments

I feel like my weekend has been super long. And it’s been glorious.

I had tons of time to spend with my mom, and we were able to shop, cook, talk and just be with each other. Just like old times. I don’t know if she knows how much this means to me.

She’s been super helpful around the house. She’s been cooking (yummy brazilian food), she’s been cleaning, and been giving me tons of advice.

This Sunday we had my MIL and FIL over. My MIL is the absolute best when it comes to gardening. People are always stopping by the shop to take pictures because of how pretty her space is. Her house is 10 times that. It’s absolutely gorgeous, and she even has a fairy garden to go with it, too.

I’ve showed you some ideas for the garden before, but this was the weekend I asked her to help me fix it up.

Azalea_garden2

We spent hours looking around for plants, talking over what could happen, looking for ideas and inspiration. I will be honest and say I didn’t have the vision, because it’s plants, and I know nothing of plants. But walking around she started to put things in the cart. “do you like this?” she’d ask and all I had to say was “I trust your judgement”.

Azalea_Garden

We left the nursery with tons of plants, way more than I ever thought I needed(we had 2 full carts!), and with tan lines on our shoulders. Getting  home, my mom was being super mom starting lunch. I wanted to help, but I ended up staying longer outside: digging, mixing, analyzing.

My MIL got right into it, and had tons planted in less than 30 min. How does she do that? No idea, but boy did she make it go by fast.

Garden_overview

It will take time for all plants to grow. For now, we have an amazing start of a beautiful garden. We have more and more ideas but all of them will wait a bit until we do them. I can’t wait for the Hydrangeas to flower, and to see how it’ll hold up. So far I’ve been great with watering them, but we shall see.

I love it already. The space is small, we can’t do much without asking for permission (if we want to take any bushes down, etc), but I know in the years to come I’ll love it even more. It’ll be adorable when we decide to expand our family, and have our little one helping me water it and tend to the garden.

garden_detail

My MIL picked out these stones from her stream just behind her house. It was so nice of her. I thought it looked absolutely perfect on the space. She got me a bunch of Stepables, which sounds super cute, and in time will make a beautiful stepping ground around the stones to reach the back plants.stepping stones

I’m in love with these concrete pots. If I had found a 3rd bigger one I’d have gotten that too. But I like how they mix. People were stopping us at the nursery to say they thought it’d look really nice. I’m glad I found the pieces, but the overall look is all up to my MIL.garden_pots

My gratitude for you, mothers, is out of this world. Thank you for all you do. Thank  you for supporting me and my crazy ideas, thank you for taking time to help us out, thank you for all you do :)

Grateful Heart w/ Ember Grey
Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

16 thoughts on “thank you, mothers

  1. Moms are the best! Loved this post!

    Like

  2. What a lovely post! Moms are wonderful!

    Like

  3. So great that you have a good relationship with both your mom AND MIL. I’m pretty dang close with my mom, but neither my husband nor I are crazy about his mom. Actually, we just recently had a bit of a falling out. Anyways, I’m beyond grateful for my mom and she just moved away from 10 minutes from me (in southern CA) all the way to Utah! It’s a 6 hour drive, could be worse. The drive is doable but how I miss having her so close…especially since I have a 3 year old who is madly in love with her and just had another (7 weeks old now). And how lovely your garden is starting out. I need more flowers in my life! :) -Misty

    Like

    • Thanks for commenting Misty. I’m definitely lucky to have my MIL in my life. We truly do love each other, and since my mom lives in Brazil (a 10 hour flight… :( ) she’s been a great constant mother figure. I don’t know if it’s something your family wants, but if it is I hope that you can get back together with your MIL and put some issues behind you. On another note, there are never enough flowers in anyone’s life! :) Your little one looks beautiful! And I feel for your mom moving away..

      Like

  4. Looks like a positively lovely weekend — nothing better than having moms come in to take care. And congrats on your growing garden. Beautiful.
    :-)
    Traci

    Like

  5. GORGEOUS flowers & gardens!!!

    Like

    • thanks, Becky! All credit to my MIL! I had no idea she could do that with my tiny little garden! I’m totally smitten with it now! haha I wish I took a picture of the other side. We have a peony bush (that she gave me a few months back), lilies and a climbing vine. So excited to see that puppy growing around the porch! :)

      Like

  6. oooh! So pretty! I’m so challenged when it comes to flowers and anything dirt/keep-it-green related so I may need to use some of these designs for our own future garden ;) So sweet to have your MIL be a part of this with you!

    Like

  7. I love gardening and you are lucky to have a great relationship with your mother and mother in law. And what a beautiful way to symbolize that growing love with a garden!

    Like

  8. What a beautiful post! And, I love the pictures too!!

    Like

  9. You’re so fortunate for such awesome women! <3 Your garden looks great. :)

    Like

  10. What a lovely post. It’s so nice that you are close with both your Mom and MIL. I can’t wait to see pictures as your garden progresses!

    Like

  11. What a sweet post :) You really are lucky to have a great family. And your gardens are gorgeous, I love gardening but I haven’t been doing so much of it this year. Now I want to!

    Like

Leave a Reply

