each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

wise woman

10 Comments

wise woman

 

Lately I’ve come to appreciate things, people, places and events.

Things that shape me as a woman, as a wife, as a daughter, as a sister. As a future momma. (no announcements on the way)

As I keep reading my daily devotions, this one stuck out to me:

The wise woman builds her house, but with her own hands.

The foolish one tears hers down.

Ever since then. I’ve been intentionally minding my actions in regards to my home. And what is a home?

To many it would be a place. But to me, a home is where I’m loved, where I’m safe, where I’m comfortable.

My home is my husband. My parents, my family.

 

And just like that this lightbulb came on. Am I being a wise woman?

Am I consciously creating a strong, steady foundation to my home? Am I practicing the values and commandments in my home, with my dearest ones?

It’s easy to lose patience sometimes. To snap and to complain. To look over your neighbor’s grass. To compare, to wish. To want to give your house away and get a new, better one. To want an immaculate, ready to move in house.

Take steps, yourself, to improve your home. To make it into your safe haven.

This is my home. My one home that I plan to have forever. And if you, like me, want your home last, be wise about it.

Put a lot of love into it. Take care of your foundation. Lay down brick by brick so it’s strong to stand against the test of time.

Let’s be mindful of our homes. Let us speak and act out of grace, and wisdom, and love. Let us take a minute to appreciate our home, and what makes it a home. And let’s be thankful of that.

A  home comes with its challenges. Any home owner/renter knows that. not everything is perfect. We are not perfect ourselves. So before we go around being foolish and unappreciative, let’s take a step back. Choose to be wise. Choose to water your garden and not compare it to your neighbors. Make your home as beautiful on the inside as it is on the outside.

My home is my life. My home is my people. And I would be a fool to not care for it.

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

10 thoughts on “wise woman

  1. Very, very true. What an inspiring post. I really need to look for the good in my home instead of what’s wrong with it. Thank you.

    Like

  2. oh you are so right on! I love that verse so much. It’s always a good reminder- one I needed this morning :)

    Like

  3. This was a “need read” for me. Lately, I keep catching myself wishing and wanting something different or better or more and I keep trying to tell myself to be grateful and appreciate what I have because it’s a lot and it really is enough. I hate that I keep falling into that trap, though. As a woman, wife and mother I feel like I have a higher responsibility to be, sort of the glue that holds everyone together and that even encourages the rest of my family to be the best that they can be…and I have to set the example by doing pretty much everything you mentioned. If I’m snappy and complaining all of the time (I do this more than I’d like to admit) then of course my kids will take notice and follow suit and my husband will respond the same way. Before having kids, I didn’t really have to think about how my actions would or may affect others. Now as a mom, wow…such a responsibility. Always having to remember that they’re watching me, soaking it all in. Thanks for sharing this. Really puts it all into perspective :) -Misty

    Like

    • oh wow Misty. You said it all. I fall into the same trap so easily as well! It’s always so easy to wish for more, to covet someone else’s life. I told my husband to let me know when I go overboard with getting snappy. I think some of it is part of marriage, but I’ve been really giving it thought, and my husband even commented on how much better our communication is. I chose to focus on the good things in my marriage, and on my husband, instead of nagging about little things (that only irritate me because it’s not MY way of doing things). It’s awful, but I’d like to think I’ve come a long way, and so have we as a couple. It will definitely be challenging once we have children. Setting an example for children is such a responsibility!

      Like

  4. This post definitely spoke right to my soul and everything you said is everything I’ve been asking myself lately! SO beautifully written, love!

    Like

  5. Thank you for sharing this! I really like that quote. I’d never heard it before. Home is where your heart is and my heart is totally with those I love. It’s easy to neglect those relationships without even realizing it. My marriage is something I know I need to put more effort into to keep it healthy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

