each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

Make it happen

24 Comments

I’m not a confrontational person. Far from it, actually.

I’m a people pleaser. I will do things I don’t want to, or like, just as long as someone else is happy.

I tend to go as far as putting my own ideas, my own wishes, in the back burner. Waiting to see the best moment, not wanting to rip open wounds, create conflict.

But I had a chance to sit down with my parents to discuss a few things that were gnawing at my consciousness. I had a chance to open up, to relieve some of the burden into their experienced minds and shoulders.

And it was wonderful.

Make it happen

That’s by far the best thing about having them here again. Even if just for a couple of days. Their wisdom.

They know much more about me than myself. They know my eternal dilemma about not wanting to displease anybody. And their advice?

Make it happen.

Just that. If you want change, be the change. Don’t expect it to come from someone else. If you’re unhappy with any aspect of your life, change it.

Take a chance, explore. Make it happen!

I don’t know when I will. It’s a fine line to me, between deciding when to take that step. When to chose me, for a change.

But I think I just might.. maybe.. things will happen.

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

24 thoughts on “Make it happen

  1. So beautiful! Calligraphy is such an amazing talent. Your blog is wonderful. I can’t wait to see more.

    Like

  2. Love the picture and the idea behind it. Change is really hard for me, but I know you’re right. Thank for giving me a little push today. :)

    Like

  3. YESSSSS, you’ve gotta make it happen for yourself, lady! I actually just wrote about this yesterday…your time is now!: http://cominguprosestheblog.com/quit-worrying-about-tomorrow-like-its-promised/

    cominguprosestheblog.com

    Like

  4. Such great advice. <3

    Like

  5. Yes, this! So often I think of “Make it happen” as applying just to achieving goals, but I love this application — putting yourself out there and taking a relational risk.

    Like

  6. I absolutely LOVE this post! As a fellow people pleaser, it can be hard to find the balance between helping others and keeping ourselves happy and healthy. Thanks for the reminder to take care of myself every now and then :)

    Like

    • thanks Lita. It’s truly difficult to find a balance – if there is even one. Once you always please people, the moment you stop doing that to help yourself tends to be a complicated one. But in the end it all works out! :)

      Like

  7. People can easily pick up on someone being a people pleaser and so they take advantage of that person and treat them like a doormat. It’s great that you’ve finally decided to not put up with it, because you shouldn’t have to :)

    Like

    • I know. It’s a vicious cycle, to be honest. But you’re right. The moment you start getting taken advantage of, that’s when it’s time to make some changes!

      Like

  8. Very inspirational! Thanks for posting.

    Like

  9. Yes! Make it happen! I’m often the way you are and find it hard sometimes to deal with problems if I know someone might be hurt. But it does feel better after you get things off your chest! Thank you for sharing! xx

    Like

    • That is true. Finding the balance between doing what’s best for you vs. what’s best for others is tricky. Sometimes you have to be a little jealous and follow what you think it’s best for yourself. It’s hard, but sometimes it has to be done.

      Like

  10. What a beautiful post! Thanks for the inspiration today :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

