each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

Welcoming change

17 Comments

psalm

There are times in which paths can be treacherous. In which the unknown can steer you away from changes, from betterment.

Throughout my journey, I’ve been asking Him for guidance, for grace, for honesty, for the right path.

We don’t know how He works. We know only to ask, for He will give. If your heart is kind and honest, and your intentions are true, He will give you the strength you need, and protect you.

When I ask for His help, the protection I need is usually from myself. I’m the one that plants the seed of doubt, the seed of worthlessness, of unfitness.

My own self is my worst enemy. And there’s no enemy quite like yourself. The one that whispers all the insecurities in your ears, the one who fires all your flaws back at you to hold you back.

To make you think you’re not enough, to make you believe you need to stay put. That for some reason, you don’t deserve happiness.

I’ve gotten tired of listening to that voice.

He has shown me that it takes courage, it takes faith. It takes believing in His plan, not yours. He will show you the correct way, He will calm your worries. But not because you want it, but because it is His plan.

I was guided to these choices. And there is much more I feel in my heart I can do. And should do.

This is the time. The time for changes. The time to give my worries to the Lord, and forge the path He wants of me. It is with joy, and a willing heart that I welcome it.

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

17 thoughts on “Welcoming change

  1. I am preparing to make a major change in my life so this was perfect timing!
    Cynthia @ craftoflaughter.com

    Like

  2. Beautiful words! I agree that our inner critics are the worst voices to listen to; mine makes me want to stay comfortable right where I am. I’m coming to realize that when I’m fearing big change, I just need to start with one small step. Big changes come as a result of thousands of small choices!

    Like

  3. LOVE THIS!! Change is something I think we all fear but it has to happen. One small step at a time

    Like

  4. Yes! My inner voice is my worst critic and stops me from doing things all the time. Needed this reminder.

    Like

  5. Such an inspirational post! I’m starting a new ‘phase’ in my life and this was perfect :)

    Pop over to my blog!

    Sarah
    https://everydayconcepts.wordpress.com

    Like

  6. [ Smiles ] Change for the better is always a good thing.

    Like

  7. Courage and faith, terrible blows to that enemy inside each of us! Lovely post :)

    Like

  8. So glad you’re finding meaningful words to guide you in the right direction!
    xo, Caitlin
    And Possibly Dinosaurs

    Liked by 1 person

  9. “When I ask for His help, the protection I need is usually from myself. I’m the one that plants the seed of doubt, the seed of worthlessness, of unfitness.” —-> YES!!! Just as you wisely wrote, we are indeed our own worst enemy. I too struggle with exactly what you wrote! And you’re right… leave it up to God and he’ll guide us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

