each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

The joys of Adopting

1 Comment

My Blogging BFF Lady Lawyer posted about her adoption story with her pooch Milo. And it got me thinking on our own adoption story of our rascal Aeris.

We always knew we were adopting our rascal from the shelter. It has never truly been a question for us. All my family cats were adopted. Our first cat, Hashi, was malnourished, covered in fleas, and found on the streets. We took him in to nurse him till he was healthy to be adopted. But he got healthy, and we fell in love.

Our second one, Shoyo, was part of a litter of pirates. His momma had something and it was passed on to them. They were stuck trying to find homes, but a lot of people couldn’t see past his pirate ways. My mom did, and so our little japanese furry family was made.

Adoptions were always the way to go. So it truly wasn’t a question for me whether we were adopting or contacting a breeder.

Going to the shelter means you’re going home with one of them. We spent hours walking around, and I was holding back tears. I wanted to take them all home with me. I wanted to love them and hug them and give all of them a chance.

We know, however, that it’s not how it works. Never, ever take in more animals than you can handle. The saddest thing we see is people returning their pets to the shelter – for whatever reason it may be.

An animal is a family member. I don’t care that people think they are not your “babies”, and I’m sorry if this offends you. But I would never, ever think of getting rid of my pets. They are not disposable, they are family.

When Brian and I went to the shelter we had a kitten in mind. His name was Arthur, and he was the saddest, ugliest kitten we could find. We wanted to take him in, love him. We wanted to give a kitten we didn’t believe had a chance, one.

We got to the shelter and found him. With his 5 brothers and sisters. He was fast asleep. We walked around, tried to pet him, poke him, interact. Nope. He didn’t want us. And it’s ok.

The thing you need to know is: your rescue pet will find you.

It doesn’t matter what you think will happen. We spent at least 2 hours walking around. Every time we came back to try and wake up Arthur, this other little rascal kept interrupting us. Giving us little love bites, meowing, trying to be pet.

aeris

She was it. Our little Aeris.

She picked us. So we picked her.

It’s been about 2 years only since we’ve had her. Since we got married.

shelter cat

Having a pet isn’t easy. It takes commitment. It takes love, selflessness. Yes, maybe spending the whole day out would be amazing. But you have a little rascal at home that spends all of her days alone, and is dying to see you, interact with you once you get home.

I try to make sure I come in, give her some love, treats, belly rubs. We usually grab dinner together and go for a couch snuggle for a little while. When I have to work she’s always around me, running wild trying to get me to play.

shelter cat

Animals take time. And care, and love, and money (we had an emergency with her that cost us quite a pretty penny!). So only commit to one when you’re truly sure. And to you, sir, who think you can just return the cat to the shelter once it’s out of the kitten phase, I pity you.

The bond I see developing between us and her is magical, pure. I don’t know that she sees us as her parents, per se. But we are her humans. It’s a bond she doesn’t have with anyone else. She feels safe, protected and love. And it’s our duty to provide these exact things to her.

shelter

When the time comes, that we don’t have her (I’m not keen on imagining that) we will definitely go back to the shelter if we decide to get another pet. Give a little one a second chance, a life they deserve, for however many years we get to enjoy them.

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

One thought on “The joys of Adopting

  1. So happy you shared your story! I really think if people just knew the options and that shelter pets weren’t damaged and crazy they would think twice before buying.

    Like

Leave a Reply

