each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

Weekend Recap

19 Comments

This past weekend passed in a blur of laundry, cleaning and decorating.

Friday night the hubs and I had planned a date night, but because I’ve been working overtime, I got home and immediately changed into pjs. Safe to say the only thing we managed was to watch a movie on tv with takeout. ( It happens more often than I care to admit, really).

Saturday night I enlisted the help of my really good friend to redo my living room decor. We finally added the mantel I’ve always wanted, and I love her style. Nothing made more sense than to have her come over and go shopping.

I’ve shared a quick sneak peek of the completed look on my instagram, and heard great feedback so far!

The funny thing is, she pushed my envelope. I tend to be safe, so if I have one thing in gold, the rest will be gold, because, duh, they go together.

She prevented me from falling back towards that. She took more risks, mixed more styles and materials. And boy, did I love it.

coffee table decor

It all started with the tray. I had a very boring black tray, and I felt it was pulling the whole look down. I kind of swore off of trays.

And then Home Goods threw this beautiful marbled tray at my face. That puppy weights a ton! And I couldn’t resist. So we started building the decor around that.

mantel decor

I’m still turning on the light on top if the mantel and admiring her handwork. I’m in love with my living room. A room that wasn’t really put to good use. I have a feeling that will change.

mantel decor

I love the space, I love the mix and match of looks, and I love that she went even further and gave us the idea of a bar tray! I’ve never thought of that! It’s not looking amazing yet, because we are not too much into liquor, we prefer our ice cold beers, but there’s always room for new additions. ;)bar2

It really goes to show how much fun it can be to bring someone from the outside, that knows your style but isn’t afraid to push you. The result is amazing. At least I think so! It may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but it’s Brian and mine’s, and that’s what ultimately matters. :)

living room decor

Our future plans for the room include: to remove the bannister, change the flooring and to update the dinning room light fixture (we already have one picked out and it’s gorgeous!)

Sunday was a day to recharge. We went to church, did some grilling, lazied around the house. We decided to go to the movies to watch the new Mission Impossible, and it was really good! I don’t think I’ve watched all of them, but it was really entertaining!

The night ended with me putting this together, reorganizing my linen closet (because, why not?) and getting ready for the week.

How did you spend your weekend?

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

19 thoughts on “Weekend Recap

  1. Great idea to have a friend come in and help you! Sometimes its nice to have a fresh set of eyes! I love your idea of removing the bannister. That will really open up the space. :)

    Like

    • thanks! I think it’ll do wonders for the space. I can’t wait for it all to happen, but I love seeing how it slowly takes place and turns into how I envision the house. :)

      Like

  2. The living room is beautiful! Nice work!

    Like

  3. I love the beautiful mix! Great job

    Like

  4. I love how everything turned out!

    Like

  5. I love the way everything turned out amazing job!!!!

    Like

  6. OFF TOPIC: I REALLY like your dining room chairs! they have great bones. I cannot wait to see all that you do with the space. So far the space looks great.good job.

    Like

  7. It’s the best when a room in your house ‘clicks’ and makes you smile when you’re in it. I hate it when Home Goods throws things at my face! Haha! :) Except I know what you mean and I also sort of love it.

    Like

    • Nothing makes me happier. I think it’s actually funny because I’ve come to appreciate almost every single room in the house, aside from ours. So this weekend was spent putting some love back into it. I’m now in the lookout for nice white curtains – not the see-through kind) for the master. I think that will really improve the space. :)

      Like

  8. I love, love, love everything you have done so far!! I cannot wait to see what else you are going to do to the room! I think removing the banister will really open up the space. I am really eager to see what move you can add!!

    Like

    • Thanks! I’m dying to do it (truly am. I have to tell myself that having just an empty space where the banister is will look weird, so I have to wait until we have saved up enough money to do the flooring before I tackle that.

      But I know it’s going to make it look SO much more open, plus make it more functional. haha It’s hard to hold myself back.

      Like

  9. I love the little details like the & on the mantle or the large silver jack on the living room table tray. So pretty! Your friend has a real eye for design. I may need to steal her for my space. ;-) My home needs so much decorating work. :(

    Like

    • She would love it. She kept repeating “I don’t know why you need me for this” while I was like: do you not see what you’ve done?! haha She actually inspired me to move things around the house, so much so that I wanted to tweak a lot of the corners of the house.. But you know, one step at a time.

      Like

  10. I love your house! it is decorated so pretty!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

