each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

Breaking Free

15 Comments

This August brings with it a few of the most terrifying goals/ to-do’s I’ve had in a while.

Remember when I mentioned a really good friend when I enlisted help with the decor? Well, she did more than just help me with decor.

She helped boost my confidence.

I’ll be the first to always admit I have zero confidence in myself. In all of myself: I don’t think I’m particularly great at anything – and that’s super scary! In the midst of reading my passages, the one from last week hit me like a bullet.

deepest fear

 

This is it.

My deepest, scariest, ugliest fear. The one that props all the doubt, all the fear, self loathing and uncertainty. The black cloud that’s always around me, preventing me from breaking free.

And that’s my August goal. Heck, that’s my life goal, if I’m at all being honest with myself.

I am enough. You are too. We are more than enough. We are talented, beautiful souls, and I’ll be damned if I let this fear cripple me any longer. This is the moment I’ve been waiting for. The clue, the sign I always ask for when I ask for guidance.

And so far, He has not let me down. From all the changes that have happened, plus all the ones that will, God has been guiding me through all the winding roads. With every bump there was a lesson. With every scratch I learned something.

This time, I have learned to step out of my comfort zone. To trust in myself, and in my work. There are things brewing over at this side. And I can’t wait to share that with you!

For now, I will just ask: What scriptures/quotes speak most to you? 

 

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

15 thoughts on “Breaking Free

  1. You can do anything you put your mind toward! I think it’s always important to set goals because it enables us to check in with ourselves. I like that you’ve publicly been so honest about how you feel as you are acting not only as inspirational but renewing a sense of positivity within. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • thank you for commenting. It wasn’t easy – I’ll tell you that. I had it written probably for almost a month (minus the boost I got from my friend). It sat there, waiting, until I could gather enough courage to post. It’s always my goal to share that most of us do feel scared, not good enough, or like we don’t fit it, even for a bit. But there’s always so much on the other side. I love sharing this journey of accepting who I am, and my value in this world. Thank you for sharing in my journey! :)

      Like

  2. God is always with you and guiding us even when you don’t always remember it! So important to keep in mind! Keep your eye on the goal and focus in on God! Thanks for the great reminder!

    Like

  3. I sometimes feel as if I am too far away from Him, but He gently reminds me that he’s here. Thank you for this beautiful post – yes, we are enough indeed.

    Like

  4. You are enough! Don’t ever forget that! Stay close to Him and you will be on the right path

    Like

    • thanks, Cynthia! sometimes we get too caught up on our own lives and forget that as long as we follow Him we are already on the right path. It’s always nice to be reminded. :)

      Like

  5. It sounds like you’ve really had a breakthrough and have some exciting things in store for yourself. That’s really great and inspiring. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    • I really did! It was almost poetic and I’ve spent the better part of 2 weeks putting it all together (hence why I was so absent – again – from this space). I need to do better about time management.. Thank you for the encouragement and for sharing in this journey! I can only hope you’ll like the end result of this breakthrough!

      Like

  6. Proverbs 3:5 always speaks to me. It says to lean not on your own understanding, and that means to me that I shouldn’t trust how I see myself. He created me, and that means I’m very special. I hope you can draw comfort from that as well! Fear only blinds us so that we cannot trust. You got this! Go forth and conquer August! And then move on to conquer the fear in your entire life :)

    Like

    • Alexandra that made my day. It is so true – and exactly what i need to hear and constantly fall back to. We are our worst critics, and fear is very deceitful. Thank you so much for sharing!

      Like

  7. Thank you so much for sharing! I actually just shared on my blog about my insecurity in sharing my art! I was so insecure in starting a blog, too! But I decided that I am going to do things because I enjoy them … not because others might. The Lord is so good to bless us with little skills here and there … I can’t believe He only intends us to use the ones we are amazing at.

    Like

    • Thank you for commenting Adeline! I’m excited to see where this journey will take you. And I would love to see more of your art. I tried clicking on your name but there were no posts on the link I got. Could you send me to the right one? I’d love to support another fellow artist! :)

      Like

  8. Amora da minha vida! Todos nós temos os nossos medos e fraquezas que constantemente escondemos do mundo. Ter a coragem de botar eles para fora com tanta sinceridade é um grande sinal de que você está vencendo a batalha contra si mesma e evoluindo para que eles não limitem a sua vida. Essa coragem não é para todos. Você é uma mulher incrível! Não deixe de oferecer ao mundo o seu talento, seria um grande desperdício. Esse conselho eu também estou enfiando goela abaixo porque… Tem hora que a gente precisa martelar na cabeça que somos muito mais do que pensamos pra ver se o negócio anda, viu? haha Vamos espalhar os nossos talentos!! Te amo, amorinha! Estamos juntas!! =p

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

