each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

The Saga Continues

8 Comments

Happy Labor Day. I hope you enjoyed the weekend and are able to enjoy this day with your significant others! I know I’ve been MIA. But I have to say: I was trying to be better with posting.

Truly better, but I will be honest and say that scheduling posts is not my forte. I try to bring to the table what really happens, in real time. I had a list of things I wanted to say and all, but after a while it became more forced that I intended it to.

It’s a hard choice to make: do you put more content out for the sake of it? Or do you keep posts to a minimum and really engage your reader? I will try to go deeper into daily happenings. Sometimes going through the motions of the day and forgetting about this space of mine happens, and I’m ashamed that I don’t try harder.

Still, I don’t profit from this space of mine, so I want it to be fun. And not a chore on my list. And I do have things I want to, maybe even need to share!

Since my happy news I decided I needed to be more proactive with my art. And that’s why, friends, I have a new website! You can find it on the top of my blog, under the tab art! Or click right on this picture here too! I’d love to know what you think!

each lovely thing site

But I wasn’t talking about this saga only when I mentioned that it continues on..

I’ve been keeping an eye open on various items that need to be changed in the house. Well, actually they don’t need to be changed. But my style has evolved, and these were here since the house was inhabited by college boys, so it’s about time to give it a face lift.

We are trying to merge our styles to find a great chandelier for our dining table as well as new lightning for the kitchen. But his traditional ways and my rustic/modern are having a hard time finding a common place. Ive looked at 5 different sites and probably at 200+ items and we have yet to agree on one. Ugh.

My friend and I even drove to Leesburg in hopes of finding one in the Restoration Hardware store. But no luck. They had great stuff, just not the ones I was looking for. I did find a great farm style table, but then again, we don’t need one. not now anyway. But I did get some ideas on how to update ours.

My mind never stops thinking on ways of improving our home. It’s great, but bad also, in a way. Aren’t you supposed to be happy in your home? To be grateful, thankful for all that you have?

My heart is. Grateful for the roof over our heads, for the coziness of our lives. But our house, like most, still needs some improvements. But unlike before, I really want it to be more like “us” instead of me. It’s his house too, and we already came up with ideas on how to incorporate more of his style and things into the house.

Now if we could just decide on a light for the dinning table…

Do you have opposite styles than your husbands? How do you make him a part of your decorating plans?

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

8 thoughts on “The Saga Continues

  1. Matt and I just made a to-do list of things we’d like to update/fix in our house. Bopping around in my head it all feels doable. Then we put it on paper and it’s like, WOAH. We are crazy and a lot poorer than we thought. YAY. :/

    Like

    • isn’t that always the deal? we’re trying to look at changing flooring and the price for steps just blew us away. We need a bit more saving before addressing stairs, clearly. haha

      Like

  2. I love your new Art site. Congratulations! Beautiful work, and a beautiful site. I totally understand wanting your house to be more we than I style. Me and my husband don’t always agree, so when we do, we jump on it and buy it.

    Like

  3. Nice job on your new art site(s)! It’s all really lovely! My husband generally doesn’t have much of an opinion about decor, but every once in awhile out of nowhere he’ll have a really strong opinion on something random in our house. What about something like this? :D Good luck! I know the feeling of simultaneously loving your home…while wanting to change up most of it :)

    Like

  4. Oops, that didn’t work. Check out the second to last picture here: http://indoornice.com/modern-rustic-interior-design-inspiration-ideas.html

    Like

  5. Oh my gosh. Now when I click that link, the photo I’m talking about isn’t the second to last anymore. It’s the pic of the wooden table and the black candelabra fixture about the table. Sorry for re-commenting for a third time!

    Like

  6. I’m so glad you’re following your artistic heart! We’re not interior decorators in our lived in house but we tend to agree on things we do!

    Like

  7. This is so amazing! Congratulations! You’ve got a lot of talent.
    xo, Caitlin
    And Possibly Dinosaurs

    Like

Leave a Reply

