each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

killing them with kindness

1 Comment

I’d like to think I’m a kind person.

I will offer to help, I will try to lift you up, I will be your friend. I will work my hardest, I will earn your respect. But throughout the process, I will be kind.

Being kind is often regarded as being weak. People think because you are kind you will never say no. And that may be true for a while.

I’m notorious for not saying no. But that often leads to people taking advantage of that. Of me. We have to be kind, but say no. Stand up for yourself.

People won’t like it at first – my experience so far is that people don’t like to hear “no”. Especially when they’re so ready to hear the “yes” you usually say.

But that’s ok.

The response won’t be positive, and you will probably hear quite a few complaints. Stick to your gut. I feel like people who can’t hear a no have a really hard time experiencing it for the first time. And they lash out.

But kill them with kindness. Be the person you are, but be brave. Kindness is not a weakness. It’s a gift. One everyone should throw around.

be bravevia

And that is my intention at the moment. Be kind, but be brave. Follow your heart, your belief, but don’t walk over anyone on the way. Be kind. You don’t know what is going on in their personal lives. But be brave enough to stand up for yourself when the time comes.

Just remember: it may take time, but kindness changes everything.

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

One thought on “killing them with kindness

  1. I love this perspective on kindness, because it really is a balance!

    Like

Leave a Reply

