each lovely thing

sharing the joys of life in each lovely thing

B.R.A. Day

Leave a comment

We all should know by now that October is Breast Cancer awareness month. A month to reflect on checking yourself, on educating yourself, and offering support for those who are fighting this battle.

As of the last 3 months, I’ve experienced Breast cancer on a daily basis. Not on myself, but through the dozens of patients we see every day at my office.

Patients that are so kind, so thoughtful, such warm human beings you can’t help but feel proud and respectful of them. In order to celebrate them, their life, and to welcome them to the office aside from their visits, the office held a B.R.A. day last night.

Breast Reconstruction Awareness day is celebrated throughout the month, and the main goal is to educate patients, showcase vendors that work towards making that journey as easy as possible, and to connect patients that have just started on this road with patients that have thankfully crossed that threshold.

We had the GoPinkDC Paddle team, whose cancer survivors and supporters team travels across the US participating in events, connecting with other survivors, and instilling a sense of camaraderie while exercising and promoting a healthier life style.

We had lovely vendors to help through the bra fitting process post mastectomy, stella & dot, and Vickie Vo, who promotes Yoga classes for breast cancer patients. It’s an amazing place to connect while their physical activity is still restricted, as well as after.

To celebrate these lovely ladies, my friend from work convinced me to do some of my signs for the event, and I can’t thank her enough.

It’s hard to expose myself to people I know and see on a daily basis. It opens too many doors for criticism, and I’m always scared of it. Of how it will make me feel.

Well, the response was super positive! I was so very happy to be able to participate on such an event. I wish I took better pictures of the items, but I will definitely take better ones this week. For now, hope you guys are content with the ones I took at the event.

Hope fight like a girl

clothed in strenght

They mean a lot to me, but they hold a lot more meaning to those fighting, to those who won that battle. It was on that spirit that one survivor approached me and got super teary eyed looking at the sign. She said it spoke to her.

survivor

And just like that, my survivor plate found a new home. It was a gift, one that left me feeling great for designing something that spoke strongly to my audience. I could see how much she was touched by that saying, how much meaning it held to her. The memories and the power she felt emanating from it.

This is why I love art. This is what I do this for.

It made me want to create amazing things for these amazing women, to make them feel better, somehow.

This job is a blessing. It allows me to connect with beautiful souls, and I’m thankful for that. And so very happy that my art got such a positive results from fierce women like these.

Author: Andrea T

Happily married to the sweetest guy, mother to a furry kitten, lover of all things shiny and sparkly. Quirky, girly and passionate about illustration and design.

Leave a Reply

